PDA

View Full Version : Keep your C drive clear of unwanted files

Sea Biscuit
04-10-2010, 02:27 AM
I am by no means a computer expert.

My C drive always seem to be full all 8 GB of it and it kept on sending me warnings to clear all the unnecessary files on the C drive.

I did not have the faintest idea what to do about it until I called an expert computer technician.

First of all he reformatted my windows and the he gave me an expert tip on how to keep the C drive clear of all the unwanted files which seem to collect on your C drive when you are browsing the net and chatting.

Here is what he told me to do.

Press Start. Press run. type prefetch in the window and press ok

Any files that you see come up you simply delete the files

You do this twice only the 2nd time you type %temp% and delete all the files there as well.

Then you go to the recycle bin and delete those files as well.

You do this every day or every 2nd day.

I am happy to report that my computer has never run so smoothly before.

Dave Schwartz
04-10-2010, 02:35 AM
LOL - He gave you good advice but did not tell you what you were doing or why.

Essentially, Prefetch was Microsoft's bright idea to load programs faster.

Whenever a program loads, there are certain things that have to happen. Short version is that the proper resources must be allocated to the program.

So, Microsoft's genius idea was to note what a program needs to do upon loading and (basically) prepare those resources for the program.

Unfortunately, Windows occasionally corrupts the file for a given program (or the program changes with a new upgrade) and suddenly the program will not run well or possibly not at all.

Funny thing was when I read the title of your post I thought it had to do with the sheer volume of data files. I did a full virus scan of my primary computer the other day. There were over three million files.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

JustRalph
04-10-2010, 02:45 AM