PDA

View Full Version : California home buyer $18,000 tax credit

Trijack
04-01-2010, 12:37 PM
Can you believe this! 8,000 tax credit from the government and 10,000 from state of California.
I am a real estate broker and even I think this is bad.

Government is broke and California is broke
When you make an offer on property here, there will be up to a dozen other offers. I made my 18th offer for one client that I have and they pay all cash.
We have closed 4, that is how tough it is.

Californians have a brief window of opportunity to receive up to $18,000 in combined federal and state home buyer tax credits. To take advantage of both tax credits, a first-time home buyer must enter into a purchase contract for a principal residence before May 1, 2010, and close escrow between May 1, 2010 and June 30, 2010, inclusive. Buyers who are not first-time home buyers may use the same time frames to receive up to $16,500 in combined tax credits if they are long-time residents of their existing homes as permitted under federal law, and they purchase properties that have never been previously occupied as provided under California law.

delayjf
04-01-2010, 05:42 PM
Trijack,

According to one mortage banker I talked to here in CA, the people who are getting the loans to purchase these homes are those investors willing to put up 20 - 30% down payment. As you are in the business, can you confirm?

Trijack
04-01-2010, 06:45 PM
When one makes an offer , cash rules if there are other offers, 20% down is next best then on down to 3% down FHA. I got one offer accepted for all cash and another offer with 10% down and 7,000.00 higher than mine was rejected.

I just had another all cash offer rejected. Someone with 10% down and 4,000 higher was accepted.

I would say that is true where investors who put 20 to 30% down are getting a lot of these homes.

skate
04-01-2010, 11:50 PM
Trijack;