PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a great capping program

BiigBlue
06-29-2003, 02:39 PM
Hello all,

I am a newbie here. I was told by some people on the DRF forum that this place might be of interest to me. I have developed a program that reads the exported files from the DRF Formulator and ranks the horses according to the information in the form.

I am new (about 6 or 7 months) to horseracing and I program in VB for fun. I made this program and want to get help with making it stronger than it is. Had 8 of 13 winners at calder yesterday and am killing at church and belmont today.

Oh well, if anyone is interested, I look forward to being a long term member here.

thanks, and good luck all.

JimG
06-29-2003, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by BiigBlue
I made this program and want to get help with making it stronger than it is. Had 8 of 13 winners at calder yesterday and am killing at church and belmont today.

Sounds strong enough to me.

zenstat
06-29-2003, 02:55 PM
Hi Blue,

Glad to see another newbie here.

Please take a look at my recent post about setting up a db.

I could use some help.

thanks

z

BiigBlue
06-29-2003, 03:02 PM
Sure, that's good. But most of the horses were chalky at best. The sleeper horse is what I want it to find. The average placement of the winner at belmont and churchill is around 4.5. This is good, but the winners sometimes come from the last placed horses in the system. I want to try and reduce this number. At calder and hollywood, that number is almost and even 3. So it takes an extra pick and a half to get the winner at bel and CD. I want to get this number down below 4.

bla bla bla. anyway.

andicap
06-29-2003, 09:51 PM
1. Are you making money?

2. If so, (and it continues to work) don't get greedy.

You can't win every race.

BiigBlue
06-29-2003, 10:06 PM