PDA

View Full Version : EXCEL ARRAYS

punteray
01-25-2010, 06:53 PM
I have imported "Toteboard" odds from Brisnet to an excel sheet (I am just learning Excel). I changed the Tote fractions to a decimal format. The decimal format is in an ARRAY. I am trying to code a program using VBA but I am having trouble using the info from the sheet array since VBA doesn't want to recognize the sheet array.:mad:

Any inciteful info to get the tote odds to the VBA format would be gratefully appreciated.:)

Thanks

Ray Scalise

raybo
01-25-2010, 11:04 PM
I have imported "Toteboard" odds from Brisnet to an excel sheet (I am just learning Excel). I changed the Tote fractions to a decimal format. The decimal format is in an ARRAY. I am trying to code a program using VBA but I am having trouble using the info from the sheet array since VBA doesn't want to recognize the sheet array.:mad:

Any inciteful info to get the tote odds to the VBA format would be gratefully appreciated.:)

Thanks

Ray Scalise

I assume you mean the formulas, for the conversions, were arrays. Did you make sure you wrote them correctly, as arrays? Check the help file in Excel and make sure your formula syntax is correct for array formulas.

punteray
01-26-2010, 12:27 PM
The syntax is correct and I do have the arrays in cells on Sheet 1. read in a book on excel that the arrays made in the sheet are different than the arrays made in VBA. This appears true since I have not been able to use the sheet array in VBA. I get a message saying the file is not compatible.

Ray Scalise

punteray
01-26-2010, 01:30 PM
As my wife always tells me "if all else fails READ THE DIRECTIONS"!!:mad:

So I am reading the book section on ARRAYS and I see where I screwed up (so far). Setting them up is different than VB6 (surprise).:D

Ray Scalise

DJofSD
01-26-2010, 01:33 PM
In computer parlence, it's often referred to as RTFM.

raybo
01-26-2010, 04:55 PM
In computer parlence, it's often referred to as RTFM.