PDA

View Full Version : The Greatest Job in the World??

sq764
06-22-2003, 01:16 PM
I always thought handicapping for a living would be the best job ever. Doing what you enjoy doing as your everyday job.

But I have recently realized (as I bought a house and got married) that it has to be a very tough way of life. I get pissed when I lose a photo on a big exacta or trifecta, but that is money on the side. I coudn't imagine the agony if that was the rent money for the month. Couldn't do it.

I really think I wouldn't enjoy betting or even horseracing nearly as much if I did it as my primary source of income.

And those who can do it and have the nerves of steel and the perserverence to overcome the tough beats, I salute you!

ranchwest
06-22-2003, 11:10 PM
If you're going to agonize over the one that got away, handicapping is probably not a very good career choice. It really takes the total discipline to know that the needed score is just around the corner and to have the ability to make it happen.

dav4463
06-23-2003, 12:51 AM
I was reading through "Commonsense Handicapping" by Dick Mitchell recently. It used to give me inspiration that "it can be done!". Then I read another thread that says Dick Mitchell is divorced and teaching math and not even betting anymore. Boy , talk about a downer ! In his book he talks about his great wife, his "see you in the short line" betting philosophy, etc. Time to find another "hero" I guess ! Or even better......become your own "hero" !

PaceAdvantage
06-23-2003, 04:41 AM
If one was a professional horseplayer, a bad beat should not affect you in the least. If it does, you won't be a professional for long, since your money management skills put you in the position to fear the big bad beat.

Professionals become pros only after they KNOW what will happen in the long run (and by LONG RUN, I mean over the course of a few weeks or months.)