PDA

View Full Version : Why do turf and synthetic tracks favor closers more than dirt?

keithw84
11-21-2009, 12:25 AM
???

bobphilo
11-21-2009, 01:20 AM
This question long puzzled me until I studied the traction characteristics of the 3 surfaces. Grass, the truly natural surface that horses evolved to run on, gives good traction and energy return to the horses’ hooves. This allows the late closers to get a good hold for their late powerful kicks.

All-weather tracks, despite the criticism of being “unnatural” actually duplicate the traction and energy returns characteristics of grass tracks and, therefore have similar properties.

Dirt tracks, on the other hand, though widely considered more “natural”, actually bear little resemblance to the native soil they replace. Their high sand content cause a lot of slippage and poor energy return. They favor horses who have built early leads by the pace call, which typically are when the race is already 2/3 to 3/4 run, leaving little time for the closers to catch the front runners on the poor traction surfaces.
Horses with short quick choppy action tend to do better on dirt tracks while long-striding horses prefer grass and all-weather tracks whose better traction compliments their long powerful strides.

Bob

PaceAdvantage
11-21-2009, 04:44 AM
Horses with short quick choppy action tend to do better on dirt tracks while long-striding horses prefer grass and all-weather tracks whose better traction compliments their long powerful strides.Secretariat was a perfect example of a super-long, powerful striding horse who absolutely hated running on dirt...just kidding...:lol:

gm10
11-21-2009, 05:03 AM
This question long puzzled me until I studied the traction characteristics of the 3 surfaces. Grass, the truly natural surface that horses evolved to run on, gives good traction and energy return to the horses’ hooves. This allows the late closers to get a good hold for their late powerful kicks.