PDA

View Full Version : system checker?

windoor
11-08-2009, 02:30 PM
Hello all, newbie here, though I’ve been lurking for a while.

A short bio and a couple of questions. Sorry for the long post, didn’t mean to write a book.

I’ve been in and out of the game for about forty years now, thanks to my dad who introduced it to me in the early seventies. (Yes, many times I have regretted ever getting involved) He was mostly a system player, based on a flat win bet and that’s where I’m at today. I must say I have never known him to make a profit over the long haul. He has tried many handicapping systems, (as have I) and while all would get the occasional winner, none would return a profit over time. My dad is gone now, and I really miss not having anyone to talk to about a sport I’ve grown to love.

I learned early on that if one were going to make a consistent profit at horse racing, you would have to develop your own method. After years of research and trial and error, I can finally say I’m having my first winning year, regardless of what happens in the next couple of months. It was a long time coming and only delayed because I was a very slow learner when it came to patience (wait for the right opportunity) and discipline. (No side bets on exotics or horses that did not quite qualify, but were all so tempting with long odds)