PDA

View Full Version : BEYER ON SPEED

karlskorner
06-04-2003, 08:29 AM
www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/sports/columns/beyerandrew

Also his columns for 6/3 & 6/2, interesting reading

azibuck
06-04-2003, 10:01 PM
I'm no pedigree expert, but whenever I read pedigree articles by experts in the field, they don't narrowly focus on the sire. They talk about families and females. I think a pedigree expert would roll their eyes at Beyer's column, as it relates to Funny Cide and distance in general. But he is correct about the intent of today's breeders.

cj
06-04-2003, 10:07 PM
How much do these so-called "pedigree experts" really know? Horses are much more fragile these days, can't run a distance of ground, so where is the expertise? The only expert I read regularly is Lauren Stich from the Simulcast Weekly articles, and for the most part they are a bunch of useless info.

CJ

andicap
06-04-2003, 10:12 PM
Not that I'm a fan of dosage -- its voodoo I think -- but didn't Funny Cide have an excellent dosage figure?
It's my understanding from limited knowledge of breeding that the sire isn't the one thing that counts.

Now my big problem with the whole breeding analysis thing is that "experts" always have an answer after the race why the horse won. "Oh, he had a distance runner in his 3rd cousin on his dame's sire from 1942."

Funny how they rarely tell me that before the race.

azibuck
06-04-2003, 10:27 PM
I know what you mean. Some pedigree people go crazy with "2x crosses to Northern Dancer AND 5x7 to Old Paint" or something like that.

But brushing aside FC's dam with her modest racing record, which may not be a true indicator of the genes she's passing on, does a disservice to the pedigree issue.

Derek2U
06-04-2003, 11:00 PM
hehe how right YoU arE .... these Breeding Xperts come out aftER
the race & so they are closet redboarders in a way. That, in a way, is all horseRacing: Everything Makes Perfect Sense After