PDA

View Full Version : Backup Systems

boxcar
10-21-2009, 11:43 AM
Ladies and Gents:

I'm in the market for a new backup system, so that hopefully I'll be able to dump Carbonite. I'm considering a product called ClickFree? Is anyone here using it? If so, how do you like it?

Thanks,
Boxcar

wilderness
10-21-2009, 12:31 PM
The majority of Windows-Users are storing most of the non-OS files in the "My Documents folder" (by default.)

Personally, I very rarely use that folder (or many other default folder installs for both data and softwares) and have a complex directory/folder structure that I've been using for nearly fifteen years.

I've been doing extensive monthly backups (first to CD and later to DVD) for nearly ten years.

It would be nice (and very useful) to utilize a backup index which worked off the "a" attribute for DOS file names, however it really isn't necessary.

I've a couple of folders in which I merely copy the contents each month.
Many of my monthly archived files are very large TIF-image files and once they are backedup, the TIF's are removed from my machine and much smaller JPG's are used. The JPG's are created the same time as the TIF's and as a result, the JPG's contain their "created date" attribute, which is also used to reference the TIF backup.
I also keep a backup file of the "created date" attributes for these same backedup data files.

boxcar
10-21-2009, 06:58 PM
The majority of Windows-Users are storing most of the non-OS files in the "My Documents folder" (by default.)

Personally, I very rarely use that folder (or many other default folder installs for both data and softwares) and have a complex directory/folder structure that I've been using for nearly fifteen years.

I've been doing extensive monthly backups (first to CD and later to DVD) for nearly ten years.

It would be nice (and very useful) to utilize a backup index which worked off the "a" attribute for DOS file names, however it really isn't necessary.