PDA

View Full Version : Done some reading, now what?

hansend
08-15-2009, 01:17 PM
Hello again folks,

I've read a handful of books now and would like to try my hand at some "paper" handicapping without any money at this time and am having a hard time deciding what to do next.

I guess I am struggling with how on earth do you pick a track? Being here in Nebraska, yes there is a track going on some where (most of the time) so I'll probably play the minor track currently going on in Columbus (to support local), but I'd like to try my hand at another or two. Fonner Park offers a multitude of simulcast wagers so I am wondering how on earth do you go about choosing which track to play?

I know in a lot of the books I read they talked about establishing pars and things like that which I'd like to make this be a serious hobby and do all of the notetaking (currently building a database to enter times and such in as I am a programmer so that comes natural to me) required as I like a good challenge, but I can not see how all that can be done if you play a lot of tracks. I would think it may be hard to establish things if you bounce from track to track.

So what advice can you give for me on choosing track(s)? Are there really any "bad" ones that I should stay away from or just go and experience one? I can pull up Fonners Simulcast for today and see a dozen or more tracks to play.

andymays
08-15-2009, 01:25 PM
At www.drf.com you can get the "Race of the Day" free past performances.

At www.dmtc.com they have a contest everyday with free past performances for the contest races along with other free handicapping stuff.

Stick with those two things for a couple of weeks and get your feet wet. Don't take on too much information or you'll go nuts!

Good Luck!

illinoisbred
08-15-2009, 01:47 PM