PDA

View Full Version : Morning Lines

Molock
07-28-2001, 07:10 PM
Another newbie type question (though I've been horsing around with this hobby for awhile):

Who does the Morning Lines? It's my understanding that it's one guy at each track, but how does he get the job? Does he stay with one track or does he follow a circuit? And does anyone know about HIS system?

Thanks in advance.

Dave Schwartz
07-28-2001, 08:56 PM
Back in the '80s I studied morning lines and consensus picks for SoCal and NY. After a database was built I found that I could tell when the DRF guy that made the line went on vacation or took a day off.

While it seems to be a relatively predictive factor (of who the public will wager on, mostly) it does not seem to have too much real value.

So, in answer to your question, I am under the impression that you cannot count on the line being made by the same person everyday.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

so.cal.fan
07-28-2001, 11:49 PM
In So. Calif. Santa Anita and Del Mar morning lines are made each day by Jeff Tufts. He is a clocker and studies the video tapes very carefully. His morning line odds on maiden first starters are pretty good. If he hangs one up at long odds, they usually can't run, especially if they have trained at Santa Anita, where he clocks horses.
Hollywood is done by Russ Hudack, another clocker and handicapper.
These guys have done these tracks for years and in my opinion are very good.

Figman
07-29-2001, 08:29 AM
The Aqu, Bel & Sar morning line is made by Don LaPlace. After making the line for NYRA for many years, he retired a few years ago. After going thru a couple of young "hotshots" who were "less than accurate" and in some cases did not even balance their morning lines, NYRA lured LaPlace out of retirement and rehired him. He now lives year around in Saratoga Springs and works from home. He has been back on the job about two years.

Dave Schwartz
07-29-2001, 10:44 AM