PDA

View Full Version : Request For Advice

aceforever
06-05-2009, 07:40 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the betting scene and would like some advice from you guys. So here's what I was trying to do and here is my experience so far:

I went to Google and tried to learn about exotic betting -- Superfecta to be specific. This landed me on the reading material for what is called as a "back loaded superfecta". Now I will quote you what the experienced author says on this website I found via google:

"If your Superfecta ticket would look like:

1,8,6/1,8,6/1,8,6,7,2,4/1,8,6,7,2,4.

This back-loaded partial would cost $72 for a $1 Superfecta ticket."

Please Note: I found this information on a blog "How to Effectively Bet Superfectas" at this website:
http://blog.winningponies.com/2007/10/15/how-to-effectively-bet-superfectas/

Now initially I was very excited when I learned about constructing this "Back loaded Superfecta" and I so today I decided to go to the Turfway Track to see how much it would cost me for tomorrow's race if I constructed it the way it is mentioned above.

So I went to the window and said to the gentleman, "Sir I would like to place a bet but I would like to know how much it would cost me first. Could you please tell me how to calculate the cost of the following bet:"

I said to him using the above example, "lets say I would like a back loaded superfecta:

1,8,6 with 1,8,6 with 1,8,6,7,2,4 with 1,8,6,7,2,4

Now how much would that cost me?"

The gentleman at the window said.."well it is very simple...here's how you calculate it...

Number of horses in the first row X Number of horses in the second row X Number of horses in the third row X Number of horses in the fourth row

He said that if I did the above calculation, it would give me the approximate price of how much the ticket would cost.

Now going back to the above mentioned example: It would mean:

3 (Horses) X 3 (Horses) X 6 (Horses) X 6 (Hourses) = 324"