PDA

View Full Version : Total Beginner

MNSmoker
05-19-2009, 10:47 PM
Hi everyone. I'm totally new to the world of horse racing, and I would like to know more about this sport. I have no aspirations of becoming a pro, I have no desire to do this full time and I have no delusions of becoming rich. I fully expect to lose more money than I make, but I'm still interested in learning more.

I live in Minnesota, so I will be playing at Canterbury Park in Shakopee and possibly Running Aces Harness Park in Forest Lake. I will probably play primarily at Canterbury, because harness racing doesn't appear to be that appealing to me. I don't plan on betting any other tracks, and this will be purely a hobby for me and just for entertainment.

I know next to nothing when it comes to this sport. I would like to know if there is a book or a website that totally breaks down this sport to a total beginner. I would like to learn how to read the racing forms, and how to handicap the races. I also would like to learn about the different betting options that are available. Also, I have no interest in purchasing and learning software to help me make picks.

I went to Canterbury with some friends last year and had a wonderful time. This time around I would like to have a little understanding of what the hell I'm doing. :) Thank you in advance for any information and assistance that you guys can provide to me. I'm looking forward to learning more about this hobby.

notchback
05-19-2009, 11:02 PM
Here is a good place to start...

http://www.turfpedia.com/

Welcome

Zenyatta To Crush
05-19-2009, 11:19 PM
Hi everyone. I'm totally new to the world of horse racing, and I would like to know more about this sport. I have no aspirations of becoming a pro, I have no desire to do this full time and I have no delusions of becoming rich. I fully expect to lose more money than I make, but I'm still interested in learning more.