PDA

View Full Version : Angles that are hard on the public but make sense.

Fastracehorse
04-28-2003, 07:37 PM
I remember a high % trainer that won a race at Woodbine last year. The horse destroyed the field at 10-1.

I remember thinking I was out to lunch on that horse. I studied the horse afterwards. There was nothing to go on the horse except a significant jockey change.

The change in itself appeared quite significant - like a trainer intent move - but the horse literally didn't figure.

I must have puzzled over that horse for quite some time because yesterday a horse had the exact same profile as the one that fooled me.

I made him my prime bet for the day and he wired the field at 6-1.

During the minutes leading up to the race I felt insecure about the horse because most of my handicapping priciples didn't apply here - but the horse jumped out of the page at me because of what I remembered last year.

His previous race Beyer this year was 58.

His race previous to that was 49 1/2.

Yesterday I'm sure he ran in the 80's.

That type of improvemnet leads me to believe that this was a horse saved for a bet - but there was a some trainer intent - a significant jock switch.

Interesting, at least to me.

And since Woodbine is a 9 month meet, what are the chances this trainer tries this again?? He has alot of stock and is high percantage.

fffastt

Fatl@DMTC.Com
04-28-2003, 07:47 PM
Hmm, usually his horses only get bet down with Husbands on, the fact it got bet down without Husbands on might suggest some inside money, something to look for in the future.

sq764
04-28-2003, 09:28 PM
Sometimes I think its hard to combine logical handicapping, trainer/jockey angles, distance switches, surface switches, off-track, biases, etc... And combine it all together to come out with a winner.

Am I the only one or would others like to totally have our minds cleaned of everything we know about horses, then just teach ourselves all of the important handicapping factors?