PDA

View Full Version : Best handicapping books

GreenPlant
04-25-2009, 02:17 AM
I am new to horse racing. What are the best handicapping books to read.

fmolf
04-25-2009, 03:09 AM
Ainslies" complete guide to thoroughbred" racing latest revisition is a must read for beginners everyone has read it i am sure.......Brad Free california capper for the drf has a book "handicapping 101"....Dave Litfin's book is very good also for beginners...the name of it escapes me at the moment

dav4463
04-25-2009, 03:37 AM
Read www.turfpedia.com

Saratoga_Mike
04-25-2009, 08:56 PM
"Beyer on Speed"

CBedo
04-25-2009, 11:41 PM
1) Modern Pace Handicapping - Brohamer
2) Winning at the Races - Quirin
3) Picking Winners - Beyer
4) Commonsense Betting - Mitchell

maxwell
05-09-2009, 04:03 PM
I just finished reading 'Picking Winners', which I found to be very similiar to 'Beyer On Speed'. Beyer's energy and love for the game saved the day,however. It's one of those weird books where you know you got something out of it but you can't put your finger on exactly what.

Beyer points out something in this edition that makes sense: synthetic tracks across North America would probably render speed figures useless. Final times will rule the roost.

Good reads.

thelyingthief
06-04-2009, 04:40 AM
the speed figures are ALREADY useless.

tlt-

Dave Schwartz
06-04-2009, 11:29 AM
I'd begin with CBedo's list and add, just for fun, My $50,000 year At The Races by Andy Beyer.

IMHO, that is the most pleasurable read of any racing book ever.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

46zilzal
06-04-2009, 12:46 PM
I'd begin with CBedo's list and add, just for fun, My $50,000 year At The Races by Andy Beyer.

IMHO, that is the most pleasurable read of any racing book ever.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz
A good one but another along those same lines is Laughing in the Hills by Barich is a great work to understand what the nuts and bolts of the game are all about.

CBedo
06-04-2009, 01:35 PM