PDA

View Full Version : why do people play pick sixes!

fmolf
04-20-2009, 05:21 PM
i as a very serious handicapper would like to know every ones opinion as to why people play such an expensive and unhittable wager....i think if every one kept detailed records they would see their bottom line is bertter playing p 3's and 4's.... am i alone on this... i am trying to understand but it really seems more like a lottery than a horse racing wager!
If you take the payout and the odds of hitting i think it is usually an underlay as far as payouts go except maybe carryover days at the southern cal. tracks... or double carryovers at new york tracks!... in yesterdays sequence at aqueduct their was a 39 dollar horse an a 29 dollar horse...who can spread enough to cover these horses that do not fit and just jump up and win?

toussaud
04-20-2009, 05:27 PM
i am not a professional pick 6 wager. I only play a pick 6 when I have very strong convictions on at least 3 of the races. I dont' go into any card thinking I'm going to play th pick 6.. but if i'm at say, santa anita and I really like one in the the 5th, one in the 7th and one in the 8th..w ell hell I have 3 singles there. at that point, I thnk there is some value. not just blindly playing the pick 6 to be playing it

rrpic6
04-20-2009, 05:30 PM
My Pick 6 attempts have become almost nil since the arrival of the various Poly-surfaces. What once was quite lucrative to my bankroll, now I mostly am a casual passerby. I think the Pick 6 pools in California have also dwindled in the past few years. The recession is a big reason, but also I have the feeling many handicappers are finding out that Poly-wagering is really tough. My overall ROI on Pick 6 wagers is still in the black. I might take a stab when the carryovers get tempting or a card on a real dirt track looks hittable.

RR

cmoore
04-20-2009, 05:34 PM