PDA

View Full Version : Blurry Youbet feed

Saratoga_Mike
04-09-2009, 07:52 PM
I sometimes watch races that aren't carried on my cable's racing channel on youbet.com (via espn.com - I'm not a youbet.com account holder). Over the past week or so, the video has been blurry. Prior to that, it was almost as if I were watching the race on TV. I think the video is delivered through the Adobe Flash Player. I'm not a techie. Is there anything I can do to improve the picture quality? I use Comcast broadband and nothing has changed on that front.

Steve 'StatMan'
04-09-2009, 08:08 PM
I haven't bet the races online in quite a while, but I did watch a race recently on Youbet through my Comcast broadband and it too seemed blurier than in the past. I do remember Comcast, within the last 2-3 months, that they were separating their service, and offering a faster-higher priority broadband service for a premium price, and a regular broadband service with less speed but still good for downloading data files. I didn't do the service upgrade, and was thinking that might be it, but would like to know more, esp. if that is not the reason for less sharp video - it was fine in 'regular' format on Youbet which is the old 2x size. Watching YouTube videos still seems pretty good - no complaints there.

Saratoga_Mike
04-09-2009, 08:12 PM
Youtube videos are still fine for me, too. I think the video used to be delivered through the Real Media video player and now it's the Adobe Flash Player, but who knows. Besides the brand names, I don't know how the two might differ, or even if I'm right about Real Media being the previous video platform.

Steve 'StatMan'
04-09-2009, 08:33 PM
I just checked it again - It currently uses Adobe Flash Player. Still blurry for me tonight, even in regular and small mode. Not sure if there were recent automatic updates for Adobe that may have made changed this - I know I ended up with a Adobe Reader update.