PDA

View Full Version : Pizzola

Pubby
04-11-2003, 01:07 PM
Just wondering if anyone uses Pizzola's Projected Power Fraction numbers, either from the book or software.

I've been testing the numbers for a few months, using only the PPF and his Balanced Speed Ratings. I found that the Balanced Speed Ratings did not hold up, but the PPF has helped to isolate contenders.

My background with pace figures has been Sartin/Brohamer and briefly Quirin style numbers. I have been surprised at the success of the PPF (at several tracks) especially in sprint races. I thought that the numbers were pretty simplistic, reminding me somewhat of Scott's ability times.

I'd appreciate any feedback from anyone who has tried these numbers either favorable or not. Also wondering if anyone has used them for turf/routes. For the software users (if any) I would like to know if there are other features besides the PPF and BSR.

Thanks.

Zaf
04-11-2003, 08:38 PM
I have found the PPF useful from time to time and have found some nice price winners with it. I hit the tri in the Preakness last year boxing the top 4 PPF contenders. I never use it as a stand alone factor. It is very easy to calculate, so if I have the time, I do it for my main contenders.

I find the PBS number to be useless.

ZAFONIC

cj
04-11-2003, 11:50 PM
I gladly welcome anyone using PBS or PPF ratings to the same betting pools as myself! (Not that I have a choice)

CJ

Tom
04-12-2003, 12:18 AM
I use the fulcrum part of the PBS number to select pacelines for horses or to forgive ad races - if the pace of race was much faster than the fulcrun, I will use that as an excuse. I use the spirit of the PBF idea if not the letter of it all the time.

GameTheory
04-12-2003, 09:02 AM