PDA

View Full Version : Cal Poly vs. KY Derby Dirt

michiken
12-15-2008, 11:35 PM
Do you think that the California synthetic track runners will ever be able to deliver a Kentucky Derby Winner on the Churchill dirt?

If I was a trainer and thought I had a legitimate contender, I would be shipping the horse East (Belmont, Aqueduct, Oaklawn, Fairgrounds and maybe Tampa Bay) to see how the horse performs. I would suspect that if he performs well over both surfaces, then I it would be legimate.

If you believe that California can produce a Derby Winner, which of the synthetic surfaces i,e. tapeta, cushion track, polytrack or pro-ride will provide the best chance?

MickJ26
12-16-2008, 09:26 AM
Do you think that the California synthetic track runners will ever be able to deliver a Kentucky Derby Winner on the Churchill dirt?

If I was a trainer and thought I had a legitimate contender, I would be shipping the horse East (Belmont, Aqueduct, Oaklawn, Fairgrounds and maybe Tampa Bay) to see how the horse performs. I would suspect that if he performs well over both surfaces, then I it would be legimate.

If you believe that California can produce a Derby Winner, which of the synthetic surfaces i,e. tapeta, cushion track, polytrack or pro-ride will provide the best chance?

Colonel John won the Travers after running most of his races on synthetics and didn't race all that poorly in the Derby if that's any barometer. Colonel John's trip was compromised, as do most off the pace horses, in the bulky Derby field.

Bobzilla
12-16-2008, 09:50 AM