PDA

View Full Version : Are some people just lucky?

dav4463
08-31-2008, 02:04 AM
I'm watching a race tonight. It is won by horse that is coming off a layoff of over a year. The second place horse was somewhat logical. The third place horse was coming back at a level below a recent claim and looked to be in poor form.

As I am throwing my losing ticket away, the guy standing by me says, "well, I got the trifecta, the win, and the exacta". So I asked him how he decided to play a horse that hasn't raced in over a year. He said he didn't even notice that.....is that what that double line means? As for the other horses, he just said he picked the jockeys that he thought were due to hit.

He cashes a trifecta for nearly $600 plus an exacta and a win.

I studied the race and got nothing. This guy didn't know what he was doing and made big money!

menifee
08-31-2008, 02:48 AM
I went to the Saratoga with my mother the past two days. She does not play the horses, I watch replays, study the form, look at formulator, etc. She had a better two days than I did. I think over a longer period of time, I would have a better ROI. The reality is that if you stick to your handicapping and that guy keeps failing to notice horses coming off long layoffs, you will do better in the long run.

Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

Burls
08-31-2008, 03:38 AM
This reminds me of the day I went to the track last year with my spouse and her friend. I was doing my best to make well thought out picks while the friend was making picks on the basis of the trainer having the same last name as her maiden name. By the time we left my spouse and her friend were well ahead while I didn't cash a single ticket. I think I did a commendable job of holding it in. It's a good thing they didn't start offering me handicapping tips. That would have been too much. :lol: :lol:

Overlay
08-31-2008, 03:46 AM