PDA

View Full Version : Ranking importance of different factors

CA Player
08-16-2008, 01:33 AM
I'm fairly new to the sport and was wondering in what your opinions were in general regarding the relative importance of the various factors: speed, class, form, pace, jockey, horse body language, tack conditions, and other factors. Is it 90% Beyer's speed and 10% everything else.

Just wanted to know people's take on this. Thanks.

classhandicapper
08-16-2008, 10:45 AM
The problem is that it sort of varies depending the class of race, distance, surface, etc...

What I would recommend is that you get a few folders and cut out the PPs and charts of all the races on your circuit. Seperate them by class (or at least similar classes, like all stakes races), distance, and surface. Then when you've accumulated a decent sized sample in any folder, try looking for similarities among the winners and longshots that did well. That will give you a feel for how to handicap different types of races over time.

Light
08-16-2008, 11:09 AM
The #1 factor is price.

Overlay
08-16-2008, 11:13 AM
As classhandicapper noted, the relative importance of factors can vary from race to race, depending on considerations such as race conditions, running surface, and distance, but if I were to rank the major factors in terms of their ability to differentiate the winning chances of the horses in a field on a day-in, day-out basis, I'd go with speed, pace, condition, and class, in that order. Rather than assigning overall percentage weights to those categories, I use impact values, which I've found to be useful both in rating factors on a common scale, and in assigning them their proper degree of influence.