PDA

View Full Version : Latest Beyer Article-Uniform Payouts

cj
03-08-2003, 11:54 PM
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A62662-2003Mar8.html

CJ

GameTheory
03-09-2003, 12:45 AM
Nothing new about that, except at Gulfstream apparently.

What is even more idiotic is in the results data files from BRIS & others, it doesn't indicate anywhere what the base wager is for the exotic payouts -- most are $2, but some are $1, some are even $3, so you're just supposed to to know what it is for that particular track for that particular wager type. What good is telling me the payoff if you don't tell me what the bet is?

takeout
03-09-2003, 01:47 AM
I think everything ought to be based on a buck. It would stop the sleazy practice of false pool reporting when there is only one $1 winning ticket out.

andicap
03-09-2003, 07:33 AM
About 5 years ago when I lived in Connecticut, I studied the jai alai results and came up with -- what I thought was -- a great system. I tracked it for 3 months every day and it had a fine profit.

Excited I told it to my racing buddies and one of them instantly burst my balloon. "Was this based on a $2 ticket or a $3 ticket?"

Turns out I was basing it on a $2 bet when the results were on a $3 bet. That shot my system all to hell!

Rick
03-09-2003, 02:53 PM
andicap,

You're not alone. I made the same mistake. Very disappointing.

rrbauer
03-09-2003, 08:08 PM
Beyer:
"Less confusing? Here is the system used in California and copied by Gulfstream: The payoffs for exactas, trifectas, superfectas, pick threes and pick fours are shown as the return for a $1 bet. But win, place, show, daily double, quinella and pick six payoffs are still quoted in a $2 denomination."

Comment:
The consistency here is that the payoffs shown are in relation to the minimum bet amount allowed. Bets which have a $1 minimum reflect payoffs for $1. Bets which have a $2 minimum reflect payoffs for $2.