PDA

View Full Version : I finally jumped in

Versajoe
08-09-2008, 08:08 AM
Some of you have probably noticed that I've asked a lot of questions lately. I'm brand new to this.

Well... last night was my first time actually betting. I went to a CT OTB location. Now don't laugh.... I bet VERY small. I picked Yonkers and usually bet $1 per bet. Sometimes I bet $2, but never more.

The bad news is that, due to circumstances beyond my control, I really did not have much time to handicap. Usually I like to get the program ahead of time, but couldn't this time.

The good news is that I started with a $20 voucher. I left with $29.25. Given my absurdly small action, I'm REALLY happy with the result. I would have done better if I trusted myself. There was at least one race where I got nervous so I just bet $1 to show, and my horse won. I also bet every race, since I wanted to have some action. I normally would pass on some races.

So I'm happy. Time to start increasing the bets.

Thanks to all who have helped me here! I know my action is probably laughable to most, but I'm taking it one step at a time.

And I now officially have an ADW account! Look out!

Sea Biscuit
08-09-2008, 11:01 AM
Some of you have probably noticed that I've asked a lot of questions lately. I'm brand new to this.

Well... last night was my first time actually betting. I went to a CT OTB location. Now don't laugh.... I bet VERY small. I picked Yonkers and usually bet $1 per bet. Sometimes I bet $2, but never more.

The bad news is that, due to circumstances beyond my control, I really did not have much time to handicap. Usually I like to get the program ahead of time, but couldn't this time.