PDA

View Full Version : Pick 3 Strategy and a Story -- Novice

PennNational11
07-28-2008, 05:28 PM
Everyone --

Hey there. I have been lurking around here for a little bit and finally decided to post!

First......a little bit about myself. I am still a relative novice to horse racing, though I have spent the better part of this summer studying the sport. I ended up at Charles Town sort of by accident this past spring and really liked it. My wife and I moved to the Harrisburg area because of job/grad school opportunities and with Penn National nearby, I decided to devote the summer to figuring out the basics of horse racing and handicapping. I am happy to report that I enjoy this a lot -- every race is like a new puzzle to solve. Adding in the prospect of making money and I feel like I have found a terrific hobby!

So my question and then my story........does anybody know of any particular books that have greater discussion of Pick 3 strategy/advice? I just finished Steve Crist's "Exotic Betting" -- I thought it was a great book. I have about a month before grad school starts, which is just enough time for another book or two.

I ask about Pick 3's because that's what I have found myself focusing on lately. I like picking winners, but I am just not that good at exactas/trifectas so far.....but I have found more successful with picking consecutive winners of racers.

OKAY, before I go, I have a painful Pick 3 story that I thought some folks on this board might appreciate! I went to Penn National on Saturday night -- they do the rolling Pick 3. The 5th race was not a very good Pick 3 race so I decided beforehand I would avoid any of the Pick 3 races involving the 5th. The 6-7-8/7-8-9 pick 3's were very interesting. I felt pretty good about the 7th/8th/9th races, but not so much about the 6th. I had a hunch about the 6th race, but it was honestly a wide open race.

I decided to play the Pick 3 in both races in the following way:

6th Race: ABC
7th Race: ABC