PDA

View Full Version : Some advice on my handicapping

Versajoe
07-25-2008, 09:08 AM
I'm new to harness handicapping. I read Ainslie's Complete Guide to Harness Racing. It's a pretty old book, but the theories still apply. There also don't seem to be any recent books that are easily available.

A couple of observations/questions about Ainslie's pace rating formula:
1) He seems to give a lot of weight to good drivers. That's fine, but the way he does it seems to be too abrupt. If a driver has a win percentage of more than 15%, you give that horse 10 extra points. (This is a lot, since most contenders are only separated by 10 of fewer points prior to adding these "driver" points in.) Therefore, a driver with a win percentage of 14.8% gets no points. Is a driver with a win percentage that's only 0.3% higher really worth all of those extra points? Seems to me that I should figure out a sliding scale. To give you an idea of how many points this is, the difference between post 1 and post 8 on a half-mile track is only worth 4 points.
2) He only uses the most recent past performance - unless that performance doesn't tell you much. (e,g,: The horse was stuck in traffic.) His theory is that standardbreads are all about conditioning now - and races that are more than two weeks old are not relevant at all at telling you what their current condition is like. (Do they have aches and pains, etc? He posits that this changes from race to race.) Again, this seems kind of abrupt, but it does make things easier since there is less to deal with.
3) He gives no consideration to the trainer. This does not enter the rating at all. Shouldn't it?