PDA

View Full Version : Horse racing.

hurrikane
06-30-2001, 01:19 PM
Off Topic
This seems the most likely place to post something about horses. Anyone here ever bet, talk, potificate, punt or watch them?

Tom
06-30-2001, 04:57 PM
Originally posted by hurrikane
Off Topic
This seems the most likely place to post something about horses. Anyone here ever bet, talk, potificate, punt or watch them?

Funny guy!
Before I answer what does "potificate" mean?
<G>

baravot
06-30-2001, 06:16 PM
Perhaps it means to speak in a manner that would suggest being under the influence of cannabis.

hurrikane
07-01-2001, 11:02 PM
It would probably mean I didn't use spell check. Of course it could be the cannabis thing.

HorseLady
07-03-2001, 07:32 AM
I might poNtificate, not so sure about potificate... I grew up in the Just Say No generation :)

I'm new to this grand sport, got into it as a challenge with a friend just before the Derby, picked the winner of the Derby (gee, who was that again LOL) and put $10 to win on him. Obviously walked away a winner and got hooked.

In my area we have OTB simulcasting on our cable system. If I don't feel like going to Belmont or Aqueduct (Spa is about 4 hours from me) I can just sit back at home and watch. I only bet at the track though because I hate the idea of OTB taking a share. Luckily I have a friend who has to work at the track (how horrible, right?) so sometimes I'll just give him the money to bet, and he'll give me my winnings the following day (except for when I blew $10 to win on On The Fan).

I usually do w/p/s bets and with the horses I bet I still don't lose even if the horse places. I haven't had a horse just show when I've done that kind of betting.