PDA

View Full Version : Asking a Favor: Old Past Performance Data

conbeaute
02-26-2003, 11:04 PM
I'm very new to handicapping, first being introduced only a few years ago and never really getting my feet wet. But I've been thinking about it ever since and have read a few books on the topic. I'm currently an undergraduate student studying statistics. I hope to do a senior project involving a statistical handicapping method. I have no ambition to get rich quick, nor do I even anticipate that my methods will rival any handicapper that has been around the block a few times. (For that matter I can't imagine I will think of anything truly novel either.) BUT, I do hope that I can combine horseracing and my studies -- that's the sort of homework I like!

In order to make this happen (I'm a first semester junior) I need to accumulate a whole lot of past performance data and pair it up with results. I contacted the folks at DRF and they tell me they don't archive their information and so they couldn't help me out. The results are posted daily though, so I can cull them no problem. The only problem I have is paying $2 or so for a racecard (times however many hundred or thousands I need) when I have no intentions of betting that card. SO, I was wondering if anyone subscribes to a service that I could get their used past performance data from -- for races that have already been run?

In exchange I have little to offer other than sharing any results that are worth sharing -- any correlations or percentages that may be of interest to you serious handicappers. If anyone can help me out, let me know. I'd be more than happy to discuss the specifics of my project.

Also, out of curiousity, has anyone else embarked on such a project? What were your experiences?