PDA

View Full Version : Why would Curlin skip the Breeders Cup

wr98
06-18-2008, 02:25 PM
Im pretty new to Horse racing and was just wondering why Curlin would go to France instead of the Breeders Cup?

njcurveball
06-18-2008, 02:29 PM
He doesn't want to run on wax and jelly cable!

46zilzal
06-18-2008, 02:32 PM
Im pretty new to Horse racing and was just wondering why Curlin would go to France instead of the Breeders Cup?
The chance of almost immortality methinks. HE won the Classic already against a good field. New challenges are what the great ones thrive on.

john del riccio
06-18-2008, 03:38 PM
IT AIN'T ON DIRT.

john

MNslappy
06-18-2008, 04:16 PM
Well, neither is the Arc

Is this more about Santa Anita's polytrack than it is about polytrack in general?

46zilzal
06-18-2008, 04:32 PM
Well, neither is the Arc

Is this more about Santa Anita's polytrack than it is about polytrack in general?
No, it seems like giving a horse the chance to make history more than anything else. As much as I think he will have a hard time accomplishing it, I applaud the attempt.

Racing here will only lead to huge imposts and risk the horse's health.

njcurveball
06-18-2008, 04:36 PM
Isn't the Arc run in a different direction as well?

cj
06-18-2008, 04:42 PM
Yes.

OTM Al
06-18-2008, 06:40 PM
I would guess that even if he doesn't take to turf, the Japan Cup Dirt or whatever they call it now, may well be on the schedule as an alternate as they have clearly stated they want to show him off around the world. If the turf does work, wouldn't be surprised to see him follow the arc with the Japan Cup and perhaps conclude the year at Sha Tin. Only thing that would be cooler than that is if they keep running him at 5 (yeah I know, but we can dream can't we?). Wasn't a fan of his TC time last year because I didn't think he was ready yet, so had to stand against, and then probably did that a little too long afterward, but this year I'm all for this guy.

Snow Chief
06-18-2008, 07:56 PM