PDA

View Full Version : Could there be any value in the super at the Preakness

pktruckdriver
05-15-2008, 10:03 AM
I was wondering if you think there will be any value in the
Preakness Superfecta this year? Now I know if BB is out of it yes there would be value in it, but knowing that may not happen, can there still be value there?

Or would the pick 3's and pick 4's be the better bets on this day?

Just looking for an average payout of 1500-2500 , since it's Preakness day, not expecting super's like Derby Day provided of course, but just wondering what I could shoot for, that's all? Being the novice here and all.

Thanks
Patrick

LemonSoupKid
05-15-2008, 11:41 AM
How many of you are playing it?

Value is relative so yes, there will be value. Will there be a HUGE score? Probably not. Definitely not a $1 paying $29k score.

Can anyone beat Big Brown? We'll see. Getting the winner outside of him will be a tall task. The other filling positions are just as hard, though!

How big of a ticket will you guys play?

LemonSoupKid

njcurveball
05-15-2008, 01:35 PM
I was wondering if you think there will be any value in the
Preakness Superfecta this year?

Because of the heavy favorite, there will be a smaller pool. One longshot will not be enough to get a signer, but two of them just might.

I would structure a bet like the one below

BB = Big Brown
C1 = your best contender to finish 2nd or 3rd
C2 = your next best contender to finish 2nd or 3rd
L2 = Longshot who you feel will be 2nd - 4th
L3 = Longshot who you feel will be 3rd - 4th
L4 = Longshot who you feel may get 4th

Please note: L2, L3, L4 need to be 5th choice or higher. C1, C2 can be two of the top 4 choices.

BB / C1, C2, L2 / all / L2, L3, L4

BB / C1, C2, L2 / C1, C2, L2, L3 / all

If you want to really spread and like L2 wheel him in trifectas as follows

BB / L2 / all

BB/ all / L2

also a saver win bet on L2 to keep your sanity if something happens to BB