PDA

View Full Version : Time to handicap a race

LutherCalvin
02-10-2003, 12:44 PM
Generally speaking, how much time does it take you experts to handicap a race? And how many bets do you make on an average day of racing?

sjk
02-10-2003, 06:38 PM
I guess the experts don't feel like answering so I will. I let my computer do the handicapping so it really takes no time at all (usually when I bet, I don't even know the names of the horses).

On a weekend day, I usually bet 40-50 races.

cj
02-10-2003, 06:41 PM
I think your use of "expert" is why noone wants to answer. With the side note that I am not an expert, I would say it takes me no more than 10-15 minutes to look at a race, make an odds line, and then I am finished. I find if I dwell too long on a race, it isn't worth playing and I'll try to dig too deep looking for some nugget I think I might have missed.

CJ

Dave Schwartz
02-10-2003, 06:59 PM
WHen I play, I am in-and-out of a race in about 2 minutes or less. Generally, I make a bet in about 80% of the races I handicap so I make quite a few bets in the course of a full day. I think the most I have ever made is about 60 races.

I recently began playing exactas for the first time and am finding that it takes longer to punch in the bets. This is having a negative effect on the number of wagers, especially around midday when there are so many simultaneous posts.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

fmazur
02-10-2003, 07:21 PM
While I do hold my own, I am certainly no expert. I take less than one minute per race when I let the computer do the picks and two to ten minutes if using the Racing Form. As noted by cjmilkowski, spending too much time on a race causes one to put too much into it deluting the end result. When I play it can be anywhere from one or two up to ten plays.

Zaf
02-10-2003, 07:32 PM
If using a racing form about 10 minutes.

If computer assisted 5 minutes.

I wouldn't put myself in the expect category, yet, LOL.

ZAFONIC

sq764
02-10-2003, 07:34 PM