PDA

View Full Version : HTR opinions

russowen77
01-12-2008, 01:18 PM
I have decided to give HTR a spin this year. I have never used software in handicapping before and I think this sounds like a good place to start.

Knowing me my problem will be when to quit buying programs but for right now I would love to get opinions on what would be the best way to get started as a new user. I apprecitate all responses..

BillW
01-12-2008, 01:25 PM
Reading the monthly newsletters would be a great start. The forum is a good source also.

ddog
01-12-2008, 01:29 PM
I have decided to give HTR a spin this year. I have never used software in handicapping before and I think this sounds like a good place to start.

Knowing me my problem will be when to quit buying programs but for right now I would love to get opinions on what would be the best way to get started as a new user. I apprecitate all responses..

Read all the HTR newsletters from the past couple of years first if you have not already.

Then signup with HDW to get the file download started.
Pull in the last 30-45 days worth of files for the tracks you wish to play.
You maybe able to get some or all of a period for free from KM, I don't know.

Sit down with the program and just page through the races and screens for a single track or circuit.
Just look at what's there, get a feel for what can help you, it varies by person.

Post questions on the HTR board, no matter what you ask someone will have a reply or tool to help you.

Tom
01-12-2008, 03:12 PM
Russ,
There is a seperate website with all the tutorials in one place, too.
How do you handicap? Speed, pace, trainers, class......there is something for you there.

Post over there and you will get tons of help.
Feel free to PM me if you have any specific questions, or want to know where to look for something in particular.

TEJAS KIDD
01-12-2008, 03:46 PM
Russ,