PDA

View Full Version : Legal question regarding Santa Anita situation?

so.cal.fan
01-06-2008, 07:01 PM
Any lawyers on board here?
I would like to know why Santa Anita, a privately owned business can't sue the CHRB?
I know they are a state agency which governs and licenses racetracks and their dates.
A man at Santa Anita told me you can't sue the CHRB.
Why not?
I don't know all the facts here, and I'm not advocating anyone should sue the CHRB.
That said, they did ORDER the major California tracks to install a synthetic surface.
What are the legalities here, if any?

Just curious,
so.cal.fan

garyoz
01-06-2008, 07:15 PM
I'm not a lawyer but I would point out that the surface at Golden Gate is holding up just fine. CHRB did not specify the vendor or specs to the extent that SA had to select the specific surface it has. I would think that would weaken any argument for culpability. It seems like it is just another course of business (bad) decision by Magna. Bad choice of vendor.

so.cal.fan
01-06-2008, 07:27 PM
That makes sense, Gary, exept, contrary to all we are reading and hearing about Golden Gate......
a vet at Santa Anita commented that several horses are starting to come up with injuries on that surface.
Another man commented that horses were evolved to handle certain natural surfaces. Dirt and grass for example.
Not, synthetic substances. His theory was that since they were not evolved to handle such surfaces, different types of injuries will occur.
He may be sort of right here.
While I am quoting opinions, a leading clocker at Santa Anita opined that all these surfaces will wear out and wear out fast, including the new GG surface.
I understand Hollywood is already showing signs of wear, will they be able to handle a Santa Anita meet on that surface, followed by their own Spring/Summer meet? Don't know. Perhaps, Santa Anita will run at Hollywood and Hollywood will run at Santa Anita.