PDA

View Full Version : Anyone had experience trying to sell software\figs

podonne
01-04-2008, 01:05 PM
I wonder if anyone has tried in the past to sell software\data files\figures and what thier experience was? Did you sell it yourself or contact one of the data providers and try to sell it through them. Did you try the web or email, or fax? I have something I'm close to finishing and I'm curious about experiences going from development to earning money from it.

Dave Schwartz
01-04-2008, 01:35 PM
I have been selling software since 1990. If you'd care to email me we can set up an appointment to discuss it.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

cj
01-04-2008, 02:16 PM
I wonder if anyone has tried in the past to sell software\data files\figures and what thier experience was? Did you sell it yourself or contact one of the data providers and try to sell it through them. Did you try the web or email, or fax? I have something I'm close to finishing and I'm curious about experiences going from development to earning money from it.

I've done it, though I'm not taking any new customers.

www.pacefigures.com

podonne
01-04-2008, 05:22 PM
cj and Dave, did you find it hard when you first started selling to the general public? How did you overcome skepticism of your product? Did you sell by email or diskette before turning to the web?

Also, cj, how did you decide when to stop taking new customers?

Philip

cj
01-04-2008, 05:30 PM
I posted my figures on this site often. I did a lot leading up to the Kentucky Derby and Triple Crown races and the Breeders Cup. I never set out to do what I'm doing now, it just kind of happened when people saw the product.

The funny thing is now I barely recognize the product I was posting then. I've come a long way with input for customers.

As for the number of customers, there was no secret formula. It just seemed like the right time considering I have a full time job and a family and more importantly understanding the parimutuel market.

Dave Schwartz