PDA

View Full Version : My Carousel Ride

Teach
01-03-2008, 10:11 AM
As a boy, I loved amusement parks. I particularly liked the carousel with its wooden horses, calliope music and brass ring.

In the mid 1980s, when I worked as a publicist/backup announcer at MA’s Foxboro Raceway, I had many wonderful experiences; yet, one in particular, stand outs --- a ride in the starter’s car.

My "carousel ride" would start taking shape in the spring of ‘84. One week before "my ride," I had cleared my presence in the starter’s car with the presiding judge. I also received the OK from the starter and his driver. I remember "my carousel ride" was to take place on a Sunday matinee.

I recall getting into the car on the backstretch. I then sat down in the car’s passenger seat next to the driver. The starter was perched in an elevated position, facing the drivers.

I remember the driver moving the starter’s car into position in front of the grandstand.. I recall the starter saying: "Bring’em up, gentlemen." Moments later, the car was in motion. I remember that we started off very slowly, like a freight train leaving the station. As we made the turn into the backstretch, we began picking up speed. By the time we were about to pull back the car’s wings, we were really motoring.

Just before we sped away, I looked back at the horses. They were now just noses away from the car’s wings. Their appearance is still etched in my mind. Their nostrils were flared. Their faces were taut. They seemed fixated. Yes, they were animals; but they exhibited the same characteristics as humans. The drive. The intensity. The urgency. In fact, the start of the race reminded me of muscled sprinters tensely awaiting the sound of the starter’s gun.