PDA

View Full Version : Some one help me regarding Quirin Spd Pts

timtam
12-30-2007, 11:43 AM
I am using a method by Steve Wolsen and it requires figuring out

Quirin Speed Points and since I'm new at it I've been doing them by myself

and then comparing the numbers with Brisnet Past Perfomances but for the

love of me I can't figure out where they are getting 8 points for

Bazooka Bob the number 9 horse in the first race at Aqueduct.

These numbers are the meat of the method and I need some assistance

in figuring out these numbers because every now and then a horse like this

comes up where I give it a 0 and the number is an 8. Any Help PLease :confused:

NormanTD
12-30-2007, 12:31 PM
I posted this elsewhere in respose to a question regarding pace numbers and while my answer is correct in regards to Q speed points, it was not answer to the question asked. But I think it's what you're looking for.

Quirin speed points are always regarding the first call point of a race

We use the last 3 races unless one of those was run at a a route, in which case we adhere to the rules below concerning a route in today’s sprint race.
Each horse in a race will be credited with a certain number of "speed points" for each of 3 recent races.

We start with the most recent race and work backward, never going back farther than 5 races in the horse’s record, to find 3 "ratable" races.

The horse’s speed point total for these 3 races will represent a consensus of its recent ability to flash early speed in today's sprint.

Each horse in the race starts with 1 speed point credited to its account.

Sprints – up to 7 1/2 furlongs: speed points:

1 point for any sprint in which the horse was 1st, 2nd, or 3rd at the first call, and/or (with an exception for 7F and 7 1/2F races)

1 point for any sprint in which the horse led or was within 2 lengths of the lead at the first call

0 points for any other sprint performance