PDA

View Full Version : The Tail Wags The Horse

Teach
12-27-2007, 09:55 PM
Bay State Raceway. Hinsdale. Rockingham. Scarborough. Lewiston. Bangor. Yonkers. Roosevelt. Freehold. Saratoga. Monticello. Batavia. Buffalo. I had them all marked.

Turn the clock back forty years. As a recent college graduate, I was then looking for a teaching job. I had decided that I’d consider openings anywhere between Madawaska, ME and Cape May, NJ. Yet, I must profess that any school system I interviewed with had to meet my own personal requirement — nearby harness racing.

That spring, 1966, I recall interviewing with four school systems: Westerly, RI, Glastonbury, CT, Rochester, NY and Manhasset, NY. Each of those communities had excellent school systems; yet, for me, the question still remained: “Was there nearby harness racing?”

I remember speaking with the representative from Westerly. I was impressed with their school system. Yet, there was no harness track within eighty miles. Next on the list was Glastonbury (south of Hartford). Their school system was known and respected throughout New England. However, the closest harness track, Yonkers Raceway, was eighty-five miles away. Then there was the interview with the Rochester, NY schools. I looked over the map. “Hmm,” I thought, “Batavia Downs isn’t too far away.” However, I wanted to complete all the interviews before I made my final decision.

The last school system I interviewed with was a town on Long Island called Manhasset (even to this day they have one of the best school systems in the country). At the time, I knew little about this New York City bedroom community, save for one thing (make that two), that there were harness tracks in the area and that the NFL’s Cleveland Browns running back, Jim Brown, had gone to high school there.