PDA

View Full Version : Are Races Fixed?

Teach
12-26-2007, 11:11 AM
I ask you: "Are races fixed?" I'd think we'd have to be naive to think that there weren't some races that are fixed. Personally, I've seen too many strange things happen on the racetrack to think they were just caused by chance.

For the record. I'm not some wet-behind-the-ears kid. At 65, I've seen and wagered on countless thousands of races.

Let me share just two of several stories. Many years ago, I had a friend whose dad owned horses. He also was a heavy gambler. I have no knowledge that he himself ever tried to fix any races in which his horses were entered; but I was told by his son (my friend) that he did try to rig a race at one of the fairs here in MA.

Years ago, fair racing was prominent in MA. There were the Marshfield, Northampton, Great Barrington and Brockton Fairs. Cheap horses, over-the-hill jockeys and rather lax security were a prescription for all kinds of "fun and games." Jockeys would fall off horses. Horses would break down. Others would blow the tight turns.

Well, in this particular case (I was not present), my friend tells me that his father greased some jockeys to try to fix one of the races. As my friend tells it, you could have fit a Mack truck through the hole that was opened up for the intended winning horse. Only in this case--- the horse didn't win! Why? I was never told. All I know was the my friend's dad's horse was given every opportunity to win.

In another story, a friend of mine was in tight with some of the trainers. I remember asking my buddy if he liked a horse I was going to play (the horse was conditoned by one of his trainer-friends). He counselled: "Don't use him!" I asked why. I was told that the horse in question was probably going to be "stopped" in the barn (I remember the word "stopped" being used).
I recall my friend saying that the trainer had not intended his horse to win this particular race, even though he was one of the logical choices.