PDA

View Full Version : Beyer v. Speed Ratings

OaklawnRailBird
12-04-2007, 01:34 PM
The DRF has Beyer ratings and Speed ratings

If the Beyer number takes into account the track, conditions, and all of the other horses that have run at that track at that distance; then what is the point of the Speed Ratings?

I realize that this question is more than likely retarded. I am new to this and any help you could give would be appreciated.

Show Me the Wire
12-04-2007, 01:50 PM
Not a retarded question at all.

Simple answer the Beyer number does not take into account the track's physical condition, i.e. sloppy, sealed, etc. The Beyer theoretically makes a speed rating to equalize different performances in various classes and distances. It is an objective measure of performance by the individual horse on a specific day.

The DRF speed rating includes the track variant, which measures the performance of a horse against the three year best time (usually not available with the new surfaces) at that specific track at that specific distance and the variant is usually a component of most speed figures.

the_fat_man
12-04-2007, 01:52 PM
I don't know if you saw the recent decision by the Olympic Committee, in conjuction with the world track and field organization,

BUT

they going to do an about face and GIVE BACK all the medals taken away from those caught JUICING in competition

and they're also going to reinstate any records set that were taken away as well

their attitude is basically: WE DON'T care HOW (under what conditions) THEY RAN the RACE but rather HOW FAST they ran. In fact, we're only focuing on the FINAL TIME as an ABSOLUTE!!!!

which means that they can't penalize the juicers/cheaters

so, I welcome you and others like you, new to the game, who are looking for answers in numbers rather than attempting to actually
LEARN the game. I suspect in a number of weeks you'll be posting as an expert in all the relevent threads (I'm sure we'll be revisiting)