PDA

View Full Version : In what area does your game need improvement?

jonnielu
11-03-2007, 07:08 AM
Hey All,

I thought I would start this thread to get some discussion going about individual need for improvement. First to look at commonalities, and second to discuss ideas on how to work toward actual improvement in some areas.

I'll try to get it rolling by sharing my story on first examining the value of adding physicality to my game, and then the method I used to improve in that area.

In 1981, my mentor handed me a few insights into how to answer the stable effort question that revolved around physicality. I grew up with horses, and the ideas made a lot of sense to me, so I started taking note of the situations he had pointed out. It seemed to be a very strong indicator for answering that one single question, so I started practicing.

It didn't take too long in the practice stage to decide that I needed to improve strongly here in order to add this to my game, in a way that would make my game stronger overall. I saw that I could use physicality, and now needed to get good at it. The question was, how would I know its true value, and whether or not I was really any good with it. If past performances were locking me in on horses, it would be difficult to answer these questions objectively.

In order to improve, plus objectively answer my questions on the real value of it, I decided to see if I could survive for a month with just a program in my hand. What an opportunity for learning something this turned out to be.

After surviving the month, I decided to join the two techniques and then start learning how to have them work together in harmony to accomplish my further goals. The biggest goal at the time was to master conservatism.

These days, I find that it would be good for me to learn how to loosen it up more.

Zaf
11-03-2007, 10:59 AM