PDA

View Full Version : What Book

McSock
10-08-2007, 10:15 PM
I am fairly new to this game. I would like to know what people feel is the best 1st book to read. Just so much info on the web, but hard for a rookie to sort out helpful stuff vs. bs.

Thanks

dylbert
10-08-2007, 10:21 PM
Betting Thoroughbreds by Steve Davidowitz -- hands down

Tom
10-08-2007, 10:36 PM
My suggestions:

Ainsle's Completed Guide - still the most comprehensive. Get the basics down, then update them with:

Handicapping 101
Davidowitz
Quinn's Handicapper's Condition Book
Beyer on Speed
Modern Pace Handicaping
Pace Makes the Race
The Glendon Jones book..forget the name.

Take a walk through PA's reading room - lots of good stuff in there, too.

banacek
10-08-2007, 10:46 PM
The Glendon Jones book..forget the name.

Horse Racing Logic

headhawg
10-08-2007, 11:26 PM
For a first book --Winning Thoroughbred Strategies by Dick Mitchell.

RaceBookJoe
10-09-2007, 12:17 AM
Listen to Tom's advice above...in order I would start with Ainslie, then Davidowitz,Beyer, and 4th Brohamer. If you study and not just read those 4 books. you will have a good grasp on horse racing. Once those are digested, turn your attention to money management. good luck...joe

WJ47
10-09-2007, 02:13 AM
Get all of the Andy Beyer books! :) Not only will you learn about handicapping, but his stories and writing style will make you feel so lucky for discovering this wonderful sport! I always enjoyed handicapping, but after Beyer's books, I just fell in love with the game. His enthusiasm is amazing! I still reread my worn copies of his books all the time and I enjoy them more with each reading. I wish he'd write some more!

Betting Thoroughbreds by Davidowitz is incredible too. The Handicapper's Condition Book is a must read.

kitts
10-09-2007, 03:34 PM
headhawg says it right. This book of Dick Mitchell's actually turned me from losing player to winning.

DJofSD
10-09-2007, 04:54 PM