PDA

View Full Version : Beyers

wegoosewe
09-11-2007, 10:38 PM
Hi i am new to the sport of handicapping question tho. On the beyers speed figs those are affected by distance changes right. And also the drf speed ratings and the track variant is there a way to calculate the overall speed in the last few races to try to find out the fast fastest horse. Basically i am trying to find if there is a relationship between speed rating and the beyers

kenwoodallpromos
09-12-2007, 11:00 AM
For now I will just say Beyer's or any other speed figure or rating have their own method of computation; but remember almost all including Beyer's measure only the final time/lengths behind, not HOW the horse got to the wire. Not pace, fractions, trouble, bad jockey moves, being wide, gate trouble for instance.
Two horses in the same race can finish at the same time, but one may be much more exhaused than the other due to track or physical condition.
Charismatic finished 3rd in the Belmont but sustained a career-ending injury.
A horse can have great figures the last few races and have peaked last race. So be careful not to ignore all the other factors.
Whether pure front or races speed or many other factors, sometimes there is a factor (angle) that just outweighs all others. And racing is designed to try to balance the race for all horses, so the race conditions set by the racing secretary or the track itself may advantage certain "lesser" horses (note Lava Man's last race; he never did well away from Ca's fast tracks, now lost on a Ca Polytrack).

DeanT
09-12-2007, 11:53 AM
It seems everyone, me included, in most races use figures to make your contender list. I think we are dependent on them in our capping. Some might say a slave to them. I don't think I am as much as most, as I am an angle type player. Maybe growing up in harness makes me not look at final time as much as some other factors, since time is harness is pretty inconsequential oft times.