PDA

View Full Version : Statistical diagnostics

prank
07-27-2007, 12:19 AM
Hi folks,

I've been absent awhile. For those just tuning in, I'm a grad student working on ranking and predicting rankings. I've made quite a bit of progress lately, and a paper will be forthcoming this fall.

Back to racing: do any of you know of handicapping systems that return a prediction and an associated degree of confidence in the prediction? You could say it's like a classification system: predicting True or False (-1 or 1, A or B), with a probability value for the output. In the real world, this would tell you whether or not to gamble.

In addition to some probability model, of course you have to use the posted odds to make a decision on whether to wager and how to wager. Except for the posted odds, are there other indicators or diagnostics that you all know about for various handicapping methods?

Thanks,

Prank

GameTheory
07-27-2007, 01:09 AM
Back to racing: do any of you know of handicapping systems that return a prediction and an associated degree of confidence in the prediction? You could say it's like a classification system: predicting True or False (-1 or 1, A or B), with a probability value for the output. In the real world, this would tell you whether or not to gamble.That's pretty much what handicapping is, although usually expressed in less technical terms. If I like a horse to win a race, and I'm willing to bet him at 3-1 or greater, I've implicitly set a probability value for that horse. Of course, you can do it explicitly as well -- most handicapping software is capable of spitting out an oddsline, not to mention many human handicappers.