PDA

View Full Version : Eliminating Non-Contenders

sealord
06-18-2007, 08:03 AM
Hi All,
Recently my handicapping took a small step forward. I have been able to do a better job eliminating the non-contenders in a race. I feel like I can now 'see' those horses who are outclassed, outsped, off form (still tricky), or just out for a workout. Now don't get me wrong, I'm no expert, but doing better than ever with this. However, I'm still leaving a lot of horses 'in' who I think can contend. Some races I can rule out 60% and others just a third. And since I have so many contenders left, I can't decide how to bet. The good news is that finally my non-contenders are consistently not hitting the board. I know this is just the first step in a handicappers education, but it was a big deal for me being a hobby-capper, weekend warrior type.

My question is this: What do you guys think is a minimum percentage or number of horses to rule out in order to effectively bet a race?

Thanks as always,
Jeff

mikeb
06-18-2007, 08:14 AM
Half the field works for me.

mb.

Hajck Hillstrom
06-18-2007, 08:55 AM
Half the field works for me. mb.I have to agree. 50% field reduction is a decent rule of thumb. The beauty of contender analysis, in this day and age, is that Pik3 and Pik4 wagers lend themselves to this perspective. The perfect Pik4 ticket to my eye is 1x2x3x4=$24, as you usually don't have to narrow down your contenders past your comfort zone.

What you have accomplished in your contender analysis is what I perceive to be the foundational fundamental handicapping process. Now, if you are betting vertically, you will need to make some adjustments to this analysis, but if you are just trying to pick winners, you are starting at the right point.

Carry on, Carry on,

Hajck

garyoz
06-18-2007, 08:59 AM
Dave Schwartz seems to use half the field plus one pretty successfully with some of HSH's analytics. Maybe he can weigh-in.