PDA

View Full Version : Gotta Love Sam Houston...

sq764
12-04-2002, 09:07 PM
I have found myself getting excited more and more every year for the Sam Houston meet. I live in Delaware, and am surrounded by Delaware Park, Monmouth, Meadowlands, Belmont, Aqueduct, Saratoga... and with all that, I think Sam Houston is the best track for the bettor in the country..

Tonight they have a 10 race card, with 98 horses entered, only 3 scratches on the card.. And is there anything better for a longshot player like myself than a 12 horse claiming field??

Not to mention the 12% pick 3's, supers like every race it seems, and the excellent calls of Michael Chamberlain..

Sorry for the rambling.. I guess I just wish they would race all year long!!

Zaf
12-04-2002, 11:21 PM
I agree with you 1000 %. I have been betting Sam Houston regularly for the past 3 years. They have had big fields consistently during that time. It is definately my favorite track to bet.

ZAFONIC

PurplePower
12-04-2002, 11:42 PM
And then we have the Great State Challenge day and depend on breed associations from the "Big" racing states and wind up with one of smallest cards we have had this year. Probably a day of chalk - but this track is sometimes not kind to runners shipping in and not getting a work over the surface. Maybe Hannah's Royalrock in the Juvy fillies and Won CC in the sprint can help us make some money.

PS -- I am not going to say it, because we have one more race to go yet -- but there is somthing that hasn't happened yet tonight and we might go 0-for-10 for the first time this meeting.

GR1@HTR
12-05-2002, 12:04 AM
Yeah, Tx racing (Ret, LS, HOU) rules as far as field sizes. PurplePower, what up w/ the gate loading shots before the races. Someone needs to Windex the camera lens on that thing. Looks like a there is a dense fog at the track every time I see that camera view...

PurplePower
12-05-2002, 01:07 AM