PDA

View Full Version : Am I missing something?

Goldminer
04-03-2007, 03:34 PM
I am new to handicapping forums, and I have been away from racing for about twelve years. I noticed that some of you have posted ROI information from time to time, and I am a bit confused. Your real or expected ROI's seem to be a bit low compared to what I am used to. I left Las Vegas in 1995, and at that time I was a professional gambler, devoted to horse racing and football. I have recently handicapped 200 races from AQU, CRC, GP, HOL, and SA. I was selective in the race cards, averaging about 4 races a day, 4 days a week. ( just looking for the average ROI's ) Below are the results. What I would like to know is this, has something happened within racing, or to the track surfaces, or to trainer patterns, or field sizes that would generate these types of ROI's?
WIN BETS
63% wins @ $8.00 using 1.5 horses = 66% ROI

( 200 races from Jan. 1st to Apr. 1st. $9943- $5970)

EXACTA BETS

37% wins @ $45 using 4 horses = 67% ROI

( 200 races $2992- $1790 )

TRIFECTA BETS

44% wins @ $174 using 5 horses = 60% ROI

( 200 races $13895- $8688 )

Bill

sjk
04-03-2007, 03:48 PM
You will run circles around most of the rest of us if you can make 66%.

misscashalot
04-03-2007, 03:54 PM
You will run circles around most of the rest of us if you can make 66%.

with an roi like that why is he lookin the gift horse in the mouth?

JimG
04-03-2007, 04:04 PM
Your real or expected ROI's seem to be a bit low compared to what I am used to.

Who are you referring to? Most people who win are not going to share such information. It is personal. Many who get on a board and brag about being a winner, really aren't.

What I would like to know is this, has something happened within racing, or to the track surfaces, or to trainer patterns, or field sizes that would generate these types of ROI's?