PDA

View Full Version : No Value Betting

Pell Mell
02-21-2007, 10:19 PM
I was going to mention this on another thread but thought it best to start a new one.

When I first started back in 1950 I used to be a driver and "Go-Fer" for a guy they called "Chinaman Dan". He was a high roller at that time and the first really successful bettor I had ever met. Dan was over 50 when I was only 17 but he kind of took me under his wing.

During the racing season, when there was no winter racing up north, I would be with Dan most every day at the NY & NJ tracks. He always had a new Caddy, wore expensive suits, smoked $2. cigars and had a wife half his age that he kept in fine style.

Dan had a very simple conservative method of play. He used no PPs and only bought a track program. He would mark any horses 2/1 or lower on the morning line and usually there wouldn't be more than one or two a day. He would then watch the board from the first to the last flash. His rule was that the odds must NEVER go up from the morning line. The horse must be bet from start to finish and then he would place 2 Gs to place. Sometimes he would get a price as high as $3.80 and he would be overjoyed. I once saw him cash over 30 straight bets.

His theory was that if the morning line was 2/1 or lower the horse figured and if the odds never went up it meant the horse was well meant. It was simple but it worked and I never saw him lose more than two bets in a row. Say what you may but Dan never went broke and that's more than I can say for most bettors.

BillW
02-21-2007, 10:23 PM
I'm curious how you don't consider it value betting if he received more back from his bets than he put in :confused:

Pell Mell
02-21-2007, 10:33 PM
I would suppose because most people don't consider even money shots as value:confused:

Cesario!
02-21-2007, 10:42 PM
Even money shots (and odds-on) can be some of the best value there is. The best value usually occurs at both ends of the spectrum.