PDA

View Full Version : How I turned $20 into $840 in about an hour

banacek
10-15-2006, 10:14 PM
So my last prime play of the day runs out. I was down $140. Shut 'er down I thought. But I was bored (that is a sure sign of trouble) and there were three unplayable races left on the card, so I thought I'd throw out a $20 fun bet on the first one and parlay it for the next 2 if it wins. Well 1st wins at $8.00, 2nd wins at $5.00, and now I've got $200! If I stop I'm up for the day. Now I've got second thoughts.

But I remember a story from one of Beyers books about "The Kid" who announces he's going to play a parlay. He wins and decides to back away and not bet the last leg of it - which of course wins.

Well I plunged the $200 down. Horse wins easily at $8.40.

I've been betting for 30+ years and I think this is probably my first parlay. At least the first one I've won!

I'm not sure I'll do it again. A stupid play, but....

Does anyone out there parlay regularly?

PriceAnProbability
10-15-2006, 10:19 PM
So my last prime play of the day runs out. I was down $140. Shut 'er down I thought. But I was bored (that is a sure sign of trouble) and there were three unplayable races left on the card, so I thought I'd throw out a $20 fun bet on the first one and parlay it for the next 2 if it wins. Well 1st wins at $8.00, 2nd wins at $5.00, and now I've got $200! If I stop I'm up for the day. Now I've got second thoughts.

But I remember a story from one of Beyers books about "The Kid" who announces he's going to play a parlay. He wins and decides to back away and not bet the last leg of it - which of course wins.

I've been betting for 30+ years and I think this is probably my first parlay. At least the first one I've won!

What'd the pick-3 pay?

(I never parlay, but never have to, with all the multirace bets out there).

banacek
10-15-2006, 10:26 PM
What'd the pick-3 pay?