PDA

View Full Version : Luck

cosmo96
08-14-2006, 07:48 PM
I appreciate everyone’s advice. I am not a professional, but I think my handicapping skills are good. At all handicapping levels, how much is just plain luck? I would like to hear about the luck factor. I would also like to hear opinions on what percentage of winning is based on solid handicapping or luck.

pressman
08-14-2006, 07:56 PM
I have none someone once said id rather be lucky then good the 4th at del sat had a 4-2 it ran 2-4 25.80 to win $117 exacta i had zip if i could lucky 10% time ive made lots of $

Overlay
08-14-2006, 08:03 PM
My opinion is that if you bet in agreement with established probabilities and performance patterns (rather than against them), the good breaks and bad breaks attributable to luck will even out over time.

kenwoodallpromos
08-15-2006, 02:53 AM
I consider 5% bad luck and 5% good luck is involved when I handicap- the rest is up to me to handicap correctly to profit.
I am talking about factors that cannot be know based on information available- that is, hidden factors influencing the horse's race, the trip, luck of other horses competing.
The less information you utilize, the more luck is involved. Ca fairgoers depend a great deal on luck and many do not handicap all year.

ryesteve
08-15-2006, 08:49 AM
what percentage of winning is based on solid handicapping or luck.
Solid handicapping = 100%
Luck = 0%

Yes, you will win and lose races via no fault of your own, but if these instances aren't happening randomly, then it's not really luck. For example, if you seem to bet on a lot of horses that get into trouble during a race, it might be because you're betting a proponderance of closers who are more likely to encounter traffic, or perhaps because you tend to like horses who encountered trouble in previous races... and often the horses who end up in trouble today are the same ones who ended up in trouble in their previous races.

John
08-15-2006, 09:28 AM