PDA

View Full Version : Physicality

Niko
08-03-2006, 11:19 PM
Tail:

Anyone able to help out with this? I don't make it to the track much anymore and usually have to watch replays due to other obligations>

Has anyone tracked how the favorite or second favorite does when the horses tail is swishing sideways back and forth. If I remember right it's supposed to mean the horse is agitated. Should be a negative sign but I've never seen any stats to back it up.

Listening to Bailey talk about the horses tail. I was glad to hear he said a flat tail as more to due with a horses confirmation than it's readiness. I'm no horse expert so I was wrong often enough about a horse whose tail looked flat. Again, the difference for those of you who make it work is that the average person like me isn't an expert and can't tell a flat tail from a tail that lays flat normally on a horse. He didn't cover a horses tail swishing sideways though.

For you physicality experts out there, care to lend a guiding hand with some supporting evidence? Thanks in advance

Faster
08-04-2006, 12:52 AM
Has anyone tracked how the favorite or second favorite does when the horses tail is swishing sideways back and forth. If I remember right it's supposed to mean the horse is agitated. Should be a negative sign but I've never seen any stats to back it up.

Joe Takach has a page (below) on just the subject.

And yes, swishing tail would have a lot to do with flies. Horse flies. Annoying insect that they are, always trying to bite you on the rump would surely agitate you too. :)

It needs to be said that Joe Takach has spent a lot of time on body language, is a self-proclaimed authority on the subject, but if you read between the lines it is easy to see that some of his stuff is too simplistic and some claims appear to be borrowed and not sufficiently researched.

http://joe-takach.com/Mini-Course/Tail/tail.html

Jeff P
08-04-2006, 01:45 AM