PDA

View Full Version : The True Value a horse

charlieparks53
06-26-2006, 02:17 AM
I am new at this so bear with me. I hear my friend saying that he only bets horses that are overlays or true value. Lets say a horse is 3-1 morning line but his true values is 5-1 he only bets them if they go 25% over the true value, my question is what is true values and how do you come up with those odds. Thank You.

kenwoodallpromos
06-26-2006, 03:24 AM
I figure the horse's win % probabilty and deduct 20% (20% win probability minus 20% of that = 16% or 5-1) (50% minus 20% = 40% win, 60% lose, or 3-2 true odds.

kenwoodallpromos
06-26-2006, 03:24 AM
I figure the horse's win % probabilty and deduct 20% (20% win probability minus 20% of that = 16% or 5-1) (50% minus 20% = 40% win, 60% lose, or 3-2 true odds.

ryesteve
06-26-2006, 06:45 AM
I figure the horse's win % probabilty
I'm pretty sure THAT'S the part the guy wanted the "how" for.

Quick answer: there is no quick answer. No one can quite pin down "true" odds... but most people have their own style and methodology for estimating it, and developing that approach is really the point of the whole game.

Dave Schwartz
06-26-2006, 12:41 PM
Alas, for all practical purposes there is no such thing as "true odds." The closest one can get is their own assessment of what they think true odds should be.

How "true" those odds actually are is only measurable in the long run and not in the individual race.

Imagine that two handicappers both have proven success in making an odds line. One makes horse A 5/2 and the other makes him 7/1. Which one is right? Even if the horse wins, you don't know that answer.

That is what makes the game so much fun. <G>

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

Tom
06-26-2006, 01:04 PM
You have pretty much a horses odds based on the limited factors you use.
Each handicapper might use different factors, so each is correct to his method.
But, nobody ever knows all the factors or how they will intereact.